New favourite book: Hand-Lettering Ledger by Mary Kate McDevitt

Leave a comment
meanderings

4ff01b5ed96db7cecee4ed175bbf1f32

Without even having to consult a psychotherapist I have realised why I’m a complete geek about typography. When I was about 10 I had a book called The Lettering Book, which was a collection of hand-drawn alphabets that you could trace and copy to create your own designs. I absolutely loved that book and would sit in my bedroom tracing and drawing letters, colouring them in and making them into cards and what-not, generally having a jolly nice time. Fast forward twenty-something years and you will now find me sitting in my flat with the Hand-Lettering Ledger by Mary Kate McDevitt on my knee.

the-hand-lettering-ledger-ADDITIONAL-53c07cd86a923-1140

This is essentially a grown-up version of my lettering book from the 1980s. Inside are lots of exercises for creating little compositions and phrases from your own hand-drawn letters, and inspiration from Mary Kate’s own designs, which are beautiful. She has also included a lot of blank pages for your own practice.

Here’s one of my Mary Kate McDevitt-inspired drawings below.

image

Leave a Reply

