A speed Christmas card design

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

xmas-card-web

In the chaos of moving house earlier in December I found myself with a single evening in which to design a Christmas card for my friends & family. It was three hours of speed hand-lettering: I had already thought of the concept but had only a few hours in which to draw, ink and digitise my design and get it to the printer before midnight.

In some ways the Countdown music going round in my head was helpful: there was no room for perfecting every tiny stroke in Illustrator (I have lost many hours to this on other designs) so the result has a more rough & ready, hand-drawn feel that I actually really like. Of course, I can now see lots of corners I’d like to smooth off and letters that need tweaking, but as a speedy design it’s not half bad, and the feedback has been lovely!

Leave a Reply

